Aventure Missionaire

At Takodé, strengthen your brother

Publié le 29/10/2018




The young people of the french chaplaincy of Bangkok spent a few days at Takodé to celebrate Easter there. The village was deeply pained by the death of a young couple a few months before.

Takodé is a mission village situated in the karen mountain sectors of Maetan. The slope is steep up until the peak of Doy Pepper which culminates on the whole region. Up there, a golden pagoda, swept by the winds, gleams in the sun or deatches from the fog, depending on whether you are a pilgrim of the evening or of the morning. Then one must follow the path for a few more kilometers to arrive at the village. In these simple houses live endearing families that we know well and visit regularly. At the height of the village, a wooden chapel reminds us of the path of the Gospel, a road of passion and ressurection.

A child of Takodé village, Blaija, was also a former student of the karen boarding school of Ponoipou. Only daughter among the eight children of the christian chief, she was married for one year, and was pregnant. They said the young couple was very much in love. In the house where several generations lived together, Blaija took care of her sick grandmother. Last year, her grandmother left this earth. The very next night, at the term of a difficult labour, that her relatives could not control, Blaija joined her ancestors. « Grandma took away the life of her grand daughter », we heard that day, in tears.

The tragedy

We are now in october, the end of the rainy season, and the roads are impracticable. Blaija is in good health, she has never seen the doctor. The child was to be delivered, as often, at home. They say that Blaija had the intuition to entrust the child to her young husband… A few hours later, the evening turned into a tragedy for the young mother, but her child is safe, a little girl. The mountain is in complete shock. Alerted by a neighbor who climbed to the top to get a phone signal, the karen sisters and myself leave on motorcycle with the catechist and a few young people of the village who came looking for us. Arriving at Takodé, we visit the family and stay close to them. The christian chief’s house was overcrowded with villagers who came to pray and show their compassion.

And oh desolation, the suffering of the family was not yet finished. One month later, the young husband, inconsolable, puts an end to his life. The parents of Blaija are in disarray. We arrive very quickly. We pray. The family, their faith shaken, seeks answers. So I put Takodé under the double intercession of saint Theresa and Father Jacques Hamel, for love to grow and that there may appear, in the death of Blaija and her husband, the first fruits of the tragedy : prayer, fidelity and support. For it is Blaija who whispers softly to our hearts, not the memory of a dark night, but rather the fervor and generosity of those who come together to pray and help.

Easter

It is in rememberence of her, and to encourage her family, that I invite the young people of the french chaplaincy to spend a few days at Takodé to celebrate Easter there, last April. This visit would bring much comfort to the whole village, I thought…

The encounter was a joy and an exceptional feast for this lost village. Placed in groups of two in the families, the young French discovered the Karen hospitality, the rustic houses, the clearing of the hills, some local games and cuisine, and the embellishing of the chapel. With brushes and talent, the karen children joined them to decorate some terracotta vases now placed on the prayer altar which now decorates the walls of each house. These vases were offered the night of Easter, while the community gathered around a renewed fire.

In this village who was in pain a few months before, the pascal candle shined the whole night. The young girl was baptised in this village. Her name, Teresa, is written in the sky, where the shape of a T can be found. Mary, who also has her constellation, protects her. In this village, where so many looks have been exchanged, it is Jesus Christ and our Lord who joined theirs and loved them. In this village, visited by missionnaries, the good grain has fell in fertile soil. In this village, I am happy to continue my predecessors’ work who obeyed to the precept of the Lord : « strengthen your brothers ! »

Aventure Missionaire

À Takodé, affermis tes frères

Publié le 29/10/2018




Les jeunes de l’aumônerie francophone de Bangkok sont venus passer quelques jours à Takodé pour y célébrer Pâques. Ce village avait été profondément meurtri quelques mois auparavant par le décès d’un jeune couple.

 

 

Takodé est un village de mission du secteur montagnard karen de Maetan. La pente est raide jusqu’au sommet du Doy Pep- per qui culmine sur toute la région. Là-haut, une pagode dorée balayée par les vents resplendit dans le soleil ou se détache de la brume, selon que vous êtes un pèlerin du soir ou du matin. Il faut ensuite poursuivre la piste pendant quelques kilomètres encore pour arriver au village. Dans les maisons sommaires vivent des familles attachantes que nous connaissons bien et visitons régulièrement. Sur la hauteur du village, une chapelle en bois rappelle la route de l’Évangile, chemin de passion et de résurrection.

Enfant du village de Takodé, Blaija était aussi une ancienne élève de notre pensionnat karen de Ponoipou. Seule fille parmi les huit enfants du chef chrétien, elle était mariée depuis un an et était enceinte. On disait le jeune couple très amoureux. Comme dans ces maisons où vivent ensemble plusieurs générations, Blaija s’occupait de sa grand-mère malade. L’année dernière, la grand- mère a quitté cette terre. Or la nuit d’après, au terme d’un accouchement difficile que les proches ne purent maîtriser, Blaija rejoignait ses ancêtres. « Grand-mère a emporté la vie de sa petite fille », entendit-on ce jour-là dans les larmes.

Le drame

Nous sommes en octobre. C’est la fin de la saison des pluies, les pistes sont impraticables. Blaija se porte bien, elle n’a jamais vu le médecin. L’enfant naîtra, comme souvent, à la maison. On raconte que Blaija eut pourtant l’intuition de recommander le bébé à son jeune mari… Quelques heures plus tard, la soirée tourne au drame pour la jeune maman, mais l’enfant est sauf, c’est une petite fille. La montagne est sous le coup de l’émotion. Prévenus par un voisin qui a grimpé sur un sommet pour récupérer le signal de téléphone, les sœurs karens et moi-même partons à moto avec le catéchiste et quelques jeunes du village venus nous chercher. Parvenus à Takodé, nous visitons la famille et demeurons auprès d’elle. Il y a du monde dans la maison du chef chrétien où s’entassent les villageois venus prier et montrer leur compassion.

Ô désolation, la douleur de la famille ne s’arrêtera pas là. Un mois plus tard, le jeune mari, inconsolable, met fin à ses jours. C’est le désarroi chez les parents de Blaija. Très rapidement nous sommes sur place. Nous prions. La famille, ébranlée dans sa foi, cherche des réponses. Alors je place Takodé sous la double intercession de sainte Thérèse et du Père Jacques Hamel, afin que s’affermisse l’amour et que paraissent, dans la mort de Blaija et de son mari, les premiers fruits du drame : la prière, la fidélité, le soutien. Car c’est Blaija qui parle doucement quand apparaissent dans les cœurs non plus le souvenir d’une nuit sombre, mais la ferveur et la générosité de ceux qui se rassemblent pour prier et aider.

La fête de Pâques

C’est à sa mémoire et pour encourager sa famille que

j’ai proposé aux jeunes de l’aumônerie francophone de Bangkok de venir passer quelques jours à Takodé pour y célébrer Pâques en avril dernier. Cette visite fera le plus grand bien à tout le village, me disais-je…

La rencontre fut une joie et une fête exceptionnelle pour ce village perdu. Placés par groupe de deux dans les familles, les jeunes Français découvrirent l’hospitalité des Karens, leur habitat rustique, le défrichage des coteaux, les jeux et la cuisine locale, l’embellissement de la chapelle. Au pinceau et avec talent, les enfants karens se joignirent à eux pour décorer de petits vases en faïence qui ornent désormais les autels de prière que l’on trouve au mur dans chaque maison. Ces vases ont été offerts la nuit de Pâques, alors que la communauté s’était rassemblée autour du feu nouveau.

Dans ce village meurtri quelques mois auparavant, le cierge pascal a brillé toute la nuit. Dans ce village fut baptisée la petite fille. Son nom, Teresa, est inscrit dans le ciel, la forme du T s’y trouve. Marie, qui y a aussi sa constellation, la protège. Dans ce village où tant de regards furent échangés, c’est Jésus Christ et Seigneur qui posait aussi le sien et aimait. Dans ce village visité par les missionnaires, le bon grain est tombé dans la bonne terre. Dans ce village, j’ai été heureux de poursuivre le travail de mes prédécesseurs qui obéissaient au précepte du Seigneur : « affermis tes frères ! »